HomeRaipur : More than five thousand villages and 18 development blocks of Chhattisgarh became open-defecation free : 16 development blocks and 1779 Gram Panchayats to be declared as open-defecation free, on the occasion of I-day

Secondary links


Raipur : More than five thousand villages and 18 development blocks of Chhattisgarh became open-defecation free : 16 development blocks and 1779 Gram Panchayats to be declared as open-defecation free, on the occasion of I-day

Printer-friendly versionSend to friend

State has target to become an open-defecation free state by 31 December 2018

Raipur, 14 August 2016

Till date, 18 development blocks and five thousand 106 villages of two thousand 849 Gram Panchayats in Chhattisgarh have become open-defecation free, under Clean India Mission. Within less than two years from the launch of campaign, nearly eight lakh households have been equipped with toilets. It is noteworthy that in his first address to the nation from Red Fort on 15 August 2014, Prime Minister Mr. Narendra Modi had announced the pledge of making entire country open-defecation free by 150th birth anniversary of Father of Nation Mahatma Gandhi on October 2, 2019. On 2 October 2014, Clean India Mission was launched across the country. In Chhattisgarh state, Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh had inaugurated Clean India Mission and had appealed people of state to actively participate in the mission. Making Clean India Mission a public movement, Chhattisgarh state is committed to become open-defecation free state by 31 December 2018, even before the deadline of Mission 2 October 2019, in order to realize the vision of 'Ujjar-Sugghar, Hamar Chhattisgarh'.

State Government has constructed eight lakh toilets in state under Clean India Mission, from October 2, 2014 to present. Under this Mission, 18 development blocks and 5106 villages of 2849 Gram Panchayats have been declared as open-defecation free. In fiscal year 2015-16, two thousand 66 villages of one thousand 70 Gram Panchayat were made open-defecation free. In current fiscal year 2016-17, three lakh 91 thousand toilets have been constructed. It is noteworthy that at the programme organized at Dongargarh block of Rajnandgaon district, Prime Minister Mr. Narendra Modi had declared first two blocks of Chhattisgarh Ambagarh Chowki and Chhuria as open-defecation free blocks, in the presence of Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh. He had felicitated the public representatives and motivators for the cause on the occasion for their commendable contribution.

In the same sequence, 16 other blocks of state namely, Lundra, Batauli, Sonhat, Magarlod, Kurud, Dongargaon, Mohla, Malkharauda, Tamnaar, Premnagar, Marwahi, Daundi, Charama, Dongargarh, Duldula and Sahaspur Lohara became open-defecation free. In the main event of Independence Day, Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh will felicitate Janpad Panchayat Presidents and CEOs of these blocks. This includes Janpad Panchayat Batauli (Sarguja) President Sharda Paikra, CEO Mr. Vijay Narayan Tiwari, Janpad Panchayat Charama (Kanker) President Mrs. Usha Vatti, CEO Mr. Dinesh Nag, Janpad Panchayat Daundi (Balod) President Mr. Prakash Arya, CEO Mr. Puneet Ram Sahu, Janpand Panchayat Dongargaon (Rajnandgaon) President Mrs. Preeti Bhelas Sahu, CEO Mr. Dashrath Singh Rajpur, Janpad Panchayat Dongargarh (Rajnandgaon) President Mrs. Kiran Amar Sahu, CEO Mr. Surendra Kumar Ojha, Janpad Panchayat Duldula (Jashpur) President Mrs. Sumantri Bai Besra, CEO Mr. Bihari Lal Saral, Janpad Panchayat Kurud (Dhamtari) President Mrs. Poornima Sahu, CEO Mr. Birendra Kumar Jaiswal, Janpad Panchayat Lundra (Sarguja) President Mr. Shailesh Kumar Singh, CEO Mr. Yashpal Singh, Janpad Panchayat Magarlod (Dhamtari) President Mrs. Nirupa Dau, CEO Mr. Ramkishan Dhruv, Janpad Panchayat (Janjgir-Champa) President Mrs. Saviti Ranjeet Ajgale, CEO Mr. Ramprasad Chauhan, Janpad Panchayat Marwahi (Bilaspur) President Mrs. Devki Otti, CEO Mr. Ganeshram Thakur, Janpad Panchayat Mohla (Rajnandgaon) President Mrs. Kalinkunwar Latiya, CEO Mr. Om Prakash Verma, Janpad Panchayat Premnagar (Surajpur) President Mrs. Seema Singh Tekam, CEO Mr. Paras Paikra, Janpad Panchayat Sahaspur-Lohara (Kabeerdham) President Mrs. Pushpa Devi Pandey, CEO Mr. Pradeep Kumar Pradhan, Janpan Panchayat Sonhar (Koriya) President Mrs. Najju Devi, CEO Mr. Khilawan Singh Dhruv, and Janpad Panchayat Tamnaar (Raigarh) President Mrs. Shashirekha Rathiya and CEO Mr. Loknath Patel.

Officials of State Clean India Mission (Rural), affiliated to Panchayat and Rural Development Department informed today that main objective of Clean India Campaign is to develop an open-defecation free society. Officials informed that as per the baseline survey 2012-13, state had to construct 26 lakh 76 thousand toilets, and 10 lakh 32 thousand out of 17 lakh 52 thousand toilets built before were found unusable. Officials said that Clean India Mission was commenced in state on October 2, 2014 to end the practice of open defecation. From 25 November 2014 onwards, Panchayat and Rural Development Department was made nodal department for implementation of Clean India Mission, in place of PHE department.


14 Aug 2016